Who is God to you?

This month of September marks the fourth year anniversary of the CCC VOG Handmaid at His Feet Blog. I look back over the past four years and I am in awe at the inspiration that this Awesome God has given to all of us through His Word. So many lessons, so many messages, so much hope, so much insight! He has truly been faithful and He remains faithful still. So, when it came to what the topic of the Anniversary Edition should be, all I was certain of was that I wanted it to just shine the spotlight solely on God: His Majesty, His Vastness, His Omnipotence, His Omnipresence, His Omniscience!

Soon thereafter, I heard a song on the radio, and as I listened to the lyrics, I felt my heart exploding and melting within me at the same time. The song is “Everything To Me” by Avalon, and a portion of it says:

I grew up in Sunday school,

I memorized the Golden Rule,

And how Jesus came

To set the sinner free…

I know the story inside-out,

And I can tell you all about

The path that led Him up

To Calvary…

But ask me why He loves me,

And I don’t know what to say –

But I’ll never be the same,

Because He changed my life when He became…

Everything to Me –

He’s more than a story,

More than words on a page of history

He’s the Air that I breathe,

The Water I thirst for,

And the Ground beneath my feet –

He’s Everything…

Everything to Me…

This song does what it does to me because it literally took the words right out of my very heart and soul.

The journey to salvation is a truly personal one. But, in addition to the quest for righteousness, how we see Jesus is really what dictates the language in which we tell our story. It is our personal relationship with Christ that governs how we interpret each and every experience that we go through in life. So the big picture of Christianity is the same for all of us, but the way our individual stories are told is shaped by who Jesus really is to us.

“My” Jesus is Everything to me! He is indeed the air that I breathe. The water I thirst for, and the ground beneath my feet. “I” know where my God has brought me from. I know what He kept me from, and what He keeps me from still. I don’t know everything that He’s going to lead me through, but I DO know that when those times come, He will be there with me.

“My” Jesus is real to me. He is tangible to me. He has become my true peaceful place. My safest haven. My very center. And His Word, His Spirit, and His love for me are helping me to understand more each day, what it really means to “live in Christ”.

Revelations 5:11-13 says:

And I beheld, and I heard the voice of many angels round about the throne and the beasts and the elders: and the number of them was ten thousand times ten thousand, and thousands of thousands; Saying with a loud voice, Worthy is the Lamb that was slain to receive power, and riches, and wisdom, and strength, and honor, and glory, and blessing, and every creature which is in heaven, and on the earth, and under the earth, and such as are in the sea, and all that are in them, heard I saying, Blessing, and honor, and glory, and power, be unto him that sitteth upon the throne, and unto the Lamb for ever and ever.

What better way to acknowledge this Awesome God and our Savior Jesus Christ that we serve, than to offer up our praise individually; and in doing so, we offer up our praises collectively. One tongue at a time, to make tens of thousands times ten thousand, and thousands of thousands tongues!!!

But, that praise comes from within. It comes from the knowledge of who God is to “you”.

From the knowledge of who Christ is to “you”.

I know where “my” praise comes from.

What about you?

Who is Jesus to you?

What has Jesus come to mean to you?

How has He changed your life?

What has He come to represent in “your” life?

What’s your revelation story?

What is it about Him, about our Lord God, that incites you to praise ?

Don’t keep your inspiration to yourself.

You cannot inspire your brethren if you don’t tell “your” story of how Jesus has come to be what He is to you.

So, it’s time for you to share what inspires “your” praise, and by so doing, you add your tongue to the ten thousand times ten thousand and thousands of thousands tongues, that come before His throne to give Him the praise and glory that He so rightly deserves. For, He has been, continues to be, and will always be such a good and faithful God!

Share your thoughts that you might encourage your brethren.

In Christ

The handmaid at His feet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment