A TRANSFORMING TRUTH

gr

I’ve shied away from writing on the topic of grace for a long time. To be honest, the reason is that I’m not certain I even fully understand the concept of grace.

Some of the explanations I’ve heard sound incredibly simple. Too simple. So simple that they often seem to negate the concept of choosing or making an effort to live righteously.

I know, however, that is not the case because of Romans 6:1 clearly states:

“What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin that grace may abound? God forbid! How shall we that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?

Other interpretations of grace are usually made under the umbrella of ‘God understands.’

“So, what is God’s grace. What exactly does it refer to”? I asked in exasperation,yet again.

In the past few months, the message of love; God’s Love; Agape; Ahavah; seems to be the recurring theme. At least it has been in my life. Clearly, I know God is trying to tell me something.

I know the love I feel for God. It is real for me. I understand it. Fully. Yet, when He revealed 1 Corinthians 13, in conjunction with 1 John 4:20 to me. I mean really revealed then, I realized I was really falling short in the practice of His love.

Needless to say. I found myself wracked. Not with guilt. But with hopelessness. I’d committed some of my short comings to God, and asked Him to change those things about me. Only for me to rise from prayer to find myself no less prone to the issues.

Then, the Lord spoke.

Hebrews 4:13-16 NIV

Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account. Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has ascended into heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to the faith we profess. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

My calling; my knowledge of Him; my faith; have absolutely nothing to do with my perfection or righteousness. It is simply as a result of His grace. An opportunity that I was undeserving of, God, by His grace, gave to me.

Grace is the unmerited goodness of God bestowed upon my life to make me better. To make me more like Christ.

I don’t have the power to fix my flaws. That I’m certain of. But Jesus does. If He also decides to to “fix” me, He also has the power to keep me focused on Him while He keeps those flaws from ruining me.

1 Timothy 1:14-16 NIV

The grace of our Lord was poured out on me abundantly, along with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus. Here is a trustworthy saying that deserves full acceptance: Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners—of whom I am the worst. But for that very reason I was shown mercy so that in me, the worst of sinners, Christ Jesus might display his immense patience as an example for those who would believe in him and receive eternal life.

This is my understanding of grace.

Christ calls us as we are, for the purpose of transforming us into what He would have us become.

He calls the broken, to make them whole for His purpose.
He calls the flawed, to make them beautiful for His purpose.
He calls the imperfect, to make them perfect for His purpose.

He sees the heart. He desires our hearts. The transformation He wants to see is the one of our hearts.

It is His grace that makes this possible. But it is for His purpose. All for His purpose. For His glory.

Now unto him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy, To the only wise God our Saviour, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and ever. Amen.

Share your thoughts tat you might encourage our brethren.

In Christ.
The handmaid at His feet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A TRANSFORMING TRUTH

  1. Esaias says:

    It is unusual for most believers to share their story, their testimony, as it were, while still very much in the midst of the test, the temptation, the trial, the furnace, the molding, and indeed, the unfolding story. We refrain because we are mostly ashamed while in the process or afraid we might not even succeed in the end. So we practice this “Wait and see”, or make vows that we will testify after the LORD brings us through. But blessed are they who do not see and yet believe.

    There is perhaps nothing more personal, nothing more deeply trying, that the crucifixion that is the process of transformation into the “new Man”- it is not dying so much as it is a given of one’s self to a killing, a gruesome killing of the old self to make room for the new. Everything comes under violence, because God will stop at nothing until His image emerges out of the corruption we have proudly carried about most of our lives.

    The blogger dares, perhaps more in exasperation and child-like hunger than effrontery, to enter into the mystery that is this GRACE of God in Christ so often – as the blogger rightly describes – abused and misconstrued in our understanding. It isn’t a license to remain as we are, or a facade to protect our false self from the requisite spiritual psycho-emotional violence of transformation; no. On the contrary, it is mercy, most unmerited, for our stretching, our pulling apart, our breaking, our dying, our rebuilding and our resurrection.

    He who began this good and great work in you, shall of a surety, bring it into completion in the Name and by the grace of our LORD and Redeemer, Jesus Christ, I pray. Amen.

    Romans 8 (KJV)

    34 Who is he that condemneth? It is Christ that died, yea rather, that is risen again, who is even at the right hand of God, who also maketh intercession for us. 35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? 36 As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter. 37 Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us. 38 For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, 39 Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

    Like

Leave a Reply

